My Favorite Childhood Movie

Small Soldiers is a hidden gem in a sea of forgotten 90’s movies. The basic gist is that a group of toys come to life. One a group of monsters, the other a group of soldiers. I first saw this movie when I was 3 years old. Making it one of the first PG-13 movies I saw in theaters. And it is PG-13, despite being marketed (rather heavily) to children. I got all the merchandise too. So the movie does hold a special place in my heart. In my opinion, its got great cheesy action, disturbing but fun images, and a solid story that still holds up today. Another saving grace is the fact that it’s the last movie with Phil Hartman. You may remember him from such roles as The Simpsons and Jingle All the Way. The only real problem with the movie is the bad cgi, but it was the 90’s so I can give it a pass. In short if you’re looking for a nonsense action movie that may or may not be good for the kids, check it out.

Archer (left) and Major Chip Hazard (right) get ready for battle

Leave a Reply

