The Danger Zone

Honestly, I’m not a big fan of Top Gun. I mean it’s a good action movie. The airplane footage is incredible. Especially when you consider that it’s all practical. No special effects whatsoever. Which is impressive for the time. Top Gun just doesn’t register with me like it does with other people. I know everything there is to know about the movie. Ranging from its cheesy quotes like “I feel the need… the need for speed” or “You can be my wingman any time”. As well as the tonguey romance between its lead characters. The song “Take my breath away” having won an Oscar and its not so subtle homoerotic tendencies. I mean why are they playing sweaty volleyball? I guess movies about pilots flying planes are just not for me. I’m still a growing fan of Tom Cruise though. See it if you want, you might get into it more than I did.

Maverick prepares to take flight

Leave a Reply

