It’s Not a Disney Movie!

Just to clarify, Anastasia is actually a Fox Animation movie. The problem is everybody thinks it’s a Disney movie. It’s an animated musical, about a princess (well Grand Duchess actually), with a maniacal villain who has a henchmen, and even a prince (kind of). So I can understand why some people mistake this for a Disney movie. Heck it was even nominated for Best Original Song at the Oscars. Unlike everyone else however, I know a Disney movie when I see it. The pacing, characterization, and songs are just easy to identify for me. I sort of first saw Anastasia when I was in elementary school. For some reason my schools never showed us Disney animated movies. I must have seen 10 animated movies when I was in school. None of them Disney (what’s up with that?). Now that I’ve got that out of the way, how’s the story? Anastasia is about the real life disappearance of the young Grand Duchess of the same name. It’s a fine film, the characters are alright, the songs are pretty good, and it has a lasting quality. It’s just not the kind of movie I would pop in whenever and say: Hey let’s watch Anastasia! To each his own I guess.

Leave a Reply

