Insert Coin

Scott Pilgrim vs. the World, the hipster dream movie. I had literally no intention of seeing this movie. I didn’t really know what to make of it. Still, it looked weird enough that I had to watch it. So I checked it out one day when my brother was out and I loved it. Scott Pilgrim is just your average guitar playing hipster. Then his life goes upside down when he meets the pink/ blue/ green haired Ramona Flowers. He wants to be with her, but first he has to defeat her seven evil exes. This is where things get really weird. It’s based on a series of comics that the movie perfectly recaptures. With occasional panels and thought bubbles. More bizarre is how the movie includes video game gags in everyday actions. Such as gold coins and health. It’s so weird, but a lot of fun. Especially if you’re into video games or comics or alternative music. I would more than recommend it.

Leave a Reply

