All Show and No Substance

Showgirls is sick, offensive, insulting, crude, demoralizing, disgusting, cringeworthy, tacky, and trashy. I think that about says it all, but I’ll say a bit more. Showgirls is easily one of the worst movies ever made. There’s literally nothing genuinely good about it. Showgirls tells the story of a woman named Nomi Malone. A drifter who hitchhikes to Las Vegas. What’s her dream, you may ask? Why to become a stripper of course. But that’s not enough for her. She wants to be taken seriously as an exotic dancer. Maybe in some alternate reality this premise works, but it doesn’t. I never watched Saved by the Bell, but I can tell that star Elizabeth Berkley was trying way too hard to shed her good girl image. I’m not sure what kind of actress she was before, but here her acting is unbelievably bad…

Every character, especially Nomi, is unlikeable. The only character with any kind of likeability is Nomi’s best friend/ seamstress. And what’s her reward, being brutally beaten and raped. Yeah, screw you (director) Paul Verhoeven! Showgirls takes itself way too seriously at times. The dialogue is all kinds of stupid and delivered very badly. It was the first NC-17 movie I saw actually. I discovered its existence when I was about 13. I was curious, but obviously I didn’t watch it until I was older. It’s a good thing it’s NC-17, because It would sicken me if there was even a small possibility that kids went to see it. Luckily though, Showgirls ruined the chance of NC-17 movies being widely released in theaters. It literally swept the “Razzie Awards”. That’s how bad it is. Don’t even get me started on the Vh1 version of the movie. So, if it wasn’t for the plethora of naked women in the movie (what can I say, I’m weak), I probably would have never seen Showgirls. I just can’t see it as campy stupidity, there’s just too much about it that makes me angry. Hence the extra long review.

Leave a Reply

