Too Wild

Where the Wild Things Are is probably the only well received movie that I hate. Seriously, I did not like this movie at all. Which is a shame, cause the book is a classic. So when I found out they were making a movie, I was intrigued. Thank God I wasn’t a kid when I saw the movie. I pity the poor children who got nightmares, thinking this was kids movie. That’s the biggest problem I have with Where the Wild Things Are. The movie is based on a children’s book. So why the heck would you make the movie a depressing, dramatic, difficult to watch think piece. A better question would be, why market it to children?! This movie is too dramatic for children. Not even teens who grew up on the book. Or adults who were forced to sit through it with their kids. It’s not a family movie either. I’m sorry, but I think the demographic for this movie is critics. They loved the movies dramatic tone, realistic approach to childhood, and wild thing performances. I’m the exact opposite. I don’t care what you say. You don’t make a dramatic movie out of children’s book, slap a PG rating on it, then market it to kids. That’s like turning The Cat in the Hat into some kind of political thriller. Kids see movies to escape reality, not relive it on screen. The whole movie has an unsettling tone. With many moments that are difficult to sit through. Then by the end, I walked out of the theater feeling depressed. This is one of many movies that I regret seeing in theaters. To make a long story short, I would not recommend Where the Wild Things Are to anyone.

Carol (wild thing) talks to Max (kid) about the sun dying

Leave a Reply

