She’s a Killer Queen

Atomic Blonde is just the kind of action movie I like to see. I had no idea this movie even existed before I saw the first red band trailer. And when I did I was sold. For one thing, the trailer utilized a Queen song, which is always a plus for me. The action in the trailer looked like something familiar (*cough* John Wick) but also different. Plus the promise of a steamy love affair sealed the deal. However, the later trailers never really impressed me as much as the first. Still I knew I was going to see it regardless. Atomic Blonde is for the most part like any other spy film. Frankly, I don’t think I’ve ever been able to follow a spy plot without getting confused at least once. So what makes it different? The action is actually really impressive. It all feels so brutal and real, but stylised and over the top at the same time. There’s one scene in particular utilizing a single take that’s perhaps the best scene in the movie. Overall, I was satisfied with what I saw. Charlize Theron knows how to kick butt.

Lorraine (center) fights off several attackers

Leave a Reply

