Rich Guy, Poor Girl

Pretty in Pink is so far my least favorite “Brat Pack” movie. It’s in no way a bad movie. I’d just say that compared to other Molly Ringwald classics like Sixteen Candles and The Breakfast Club, Pretty in Pink just doesn’t compare. For one thing, it was written by John Hughes not directed by him. The whole tone of Pretty in Pink feels different to me. The main point of Pretty in Pink is the whole class struggle thing. Someone whose poor falling for someone rich. Characters like Duckie, whom I should find hilarious, fall short for me. Like I said, it’s not a bad movie. I’m just less likely to rewatch it. It’s probably one of the most 80’s films there is though. And I’ll say that the ending makes the movie work. It’s probably one of the most well known alternate endings to any film. So if you like John Hughes, the “Brat Pack,” or the 80’s, then maybe you’ll like Pretty in Pink more than I did.

 

Leave a Reply

