They Lived Happily Ever After… Not

Into the Woods is a traumatizing experience to say the least. Before I get into that, let me explain something. I’ve seen many versions of well known fairy tales. Be they dark or “disneyfied.” Imagine my curiosity when I found out about this musical involving these fairy tale characters. I had never heard of the play Into the Woods before so. So I didn’t know what to expect. Into the Woods centers on Cinderella, Little Red Riding Hood, Jack and the Beanstalk and Rapunzel. Along with more original characters like a witch, a baker, and his wife. It starts off rather innocent with a few mature twists to it. It even seems like it’s going to ending happily ever after. Until (SPOILER ALERT!) everything that could go wrong does goes wrong. People die, fall into depression, and lose loved ones. What’s really so messed up about it is the fact that this was made by Disney. I would not recommend children watch this. The music is fine if you’re into sing talk and Meryl Streep is above average as the witch. So it’s up to you whether or not you want to watch it. I probably won’t watch it every again.

Little Red Riding Hood skips happily into the woods

 

Leave a Reply

