A-C-R-O-N-Y-M

As I have shown time and time again on my blog, I like to be random. I like to review movies that are entirely different from the last. I even like to review movies that people have either forgotten or never heard of as well. The 1986 Made-for-TV Disney movie The Girl Who Spelled Freedom is one of those movies. I first saw The Girl Who Spelled Freedom when I was in elementary school. Back then it was common to watch obscure movies in class, as long as it was educational. Heck, I’m still searching for some movies I saw in class. It took me years to finally find this movie. I had to ask people on “Yahoo Answers” using a detailed description of what I could remember about the movie. Thankfully somebody knew the answer and directed me to the film on “YouTube.” Which is lucky, because the movie has never been released on DVD (even though it should be). The Girl Who Spelled Freedom is based on the true story of a Cambodian family who gets sponsored by an American family. One of the girls became so smart that she ended up winning a school spelling bee. I loved watching the movie so much that I had to find it. It’s culturally relevant and fascinating to watch. I strongly suggest watching it if you have the time.

Spell

Linn Yann wins the spelling bee

P.S. I’ve supplied the full movie underneath. The only place you can watch it.

Leave a Reply

