28 Year Facelift

Tron Legacy came out 28 years after Tron. Making it one of the longest gaps between a movie and its sequel. When I first heard they were making a sequel to Tron, I was curious. I had limited knowledge about the movie, but I still wanted to see Tron: Legacy. When it became apparent that I wasn’t going to be able see Tron before Tron: Legacy, I went to see it anyway. I’m not the kind of person who sees a sequel before the original, but I figured the sequel was different enough to where it didn’t matter. Not that I never watched a sequel before an original before. I did it all the time as a kid, but this was the last time I did it when I was older. I wasn’t as lost as I thought I might be. The fact that the movie looks almost nothing like the original helped.ย Tron: Legacy is about the son of Kevin Flynn. Like his father, he ends up being digitized into the virtual world. It’s there that he searches for his lost father. The visuals are a stunning improvement with an appropriately added dubstep soundtrack. It’s also one of the first movies to prefect de-aging special effects. Jeff Bridges is made to look about 20 years younger. The only problem is the new characters are forgettable and the story is so so. Whether you’ve seen Tron: Legacy before or after the original, it’s definitely style over substance.

Tron Legacy

Light Cycle race 2.0

Preceded by: Tron

Leave a comment