Just Pretend to Be Normal

Little Miss Sunshine is not at all what I was expecting. At first you might think a movie about a girl going to a beauty pageant is going to be sweet and innocent. Little do you know, it’s actually really dark and depressing. Little Miss Sunshine is rated R, mostly for harsh language. I definitely wasn’t expecting that. The movie is labeled as a dark comedy, but I didn’t laugh once. I guess I didn’t really know what was supposed to be comedy and what was supposed to be drama. So I just took it all in as drama. A good majority of the movie focuses on the trip to the pageant. Which allows for lots of character examination. Abigail Breslin shines as the young lead and Alan Arkin actually won Best Supporting Actor. Little Miss Sunshine is not a kids movie. It’s about the reality we face in our everyday lives. One that can be dealt with by simply being there for one another.

Little Miss Sunshine

The Hoover family try to start their van