There is No Spoon ⭐

The Matrix is my all time favorite action movie. My inclusion of it in my “Top 10 Favorite Movies” list as number eight was a no brainer. Although, one look at my list and you can tell action is a big part of my favorite movies. I’m always in the mood for an exhilarating action movie. I’ve seen The Matrix more times then I can count, but I’m not entirely sure how I got into it in the first place. I asked my parents and brother and even they aren’t sure how. All I know is that I saw the movie at a very young age. The Matrix came out in 1999. I was 3 years old when it first came out. So I at least know it wasn’t a theater going experience. My parents say that they first saw The Matrix on HBO and that they didn’t watch the movie with us the first time we watched it. So I’m fairly certain the first time me and my brother watched it was on VHS. It’s very possible we stumbled across the movie, thought it looked cool, and asked to watch it. Whatever the case, we ended up with 2 copies of the movie. One for our parents and one for us. We ended up watching The Matrix so much that I knew the whole movie word for word, punch for punch. It was also my (and likely everyone else’s) introduction to the directing duo the Wachowskis…

4nvICeP

Neo dodges bullets

What is The Matrix? “Unfortunately, no one can be…told what the Matrix is. You have to see it for yourself.” The Matrix begins with a man named Thomas A. Anderson. Computer programer by day, hacker by night. As a hacker he goes by the alias “Neo.” It’s online where he discovers “the Matrix” and a white rabbit to follow. Since he feels as though he’s living a dream he can’t get out of. It leads him to Trinity. A mystery leather clad woman who helps Neo find the answers he’s searching for. That’s how Neo meets Morpheus. An even more mysterious man who helps Neo learn the truth. By giving Neo the choice of taking a red pill (to learn the truth) or a blue pill (to remain unaware). The Matrix would best be described as a computer simulation designed to keep humans from learning the truth about their own existence. What I never realized before was that the Matrix is directly caused by Y2K. Near the end of the 20th century, mankind created A.I. (artificial intelligence). A.I. that seized control of mankind and decided to use humans as an energy source (living batteries). The Matrix is designed to feel real, but it’s all an illusion. When Neo is pulled out of the Matrix, it’s like being born for the first time. He’s bald and naked with plugs all around his body. Neo joins Morpheus, Trinity, and other resistance fighters aboard the Nebuchadnezzar. It’s there Neo discovers the limitless possibilities of the Matrix. They can load weapons, learn kung fu, jump across buildings (whoa), and even dodge bullets. The Matrix is also a “Chosen One” story, or “The One” to be exact. As Neo deals with the possibility of being the one who saves all of humanity. That’s where the Oracle comes in. An unlikely figure who gives Neo his destiny. The biggest threat in the Matrix is Agent Smith. A man in black programed to secretly maintain order in the Matrix. As well as Sentinels, squid-like killing machines designed to hunt humans in the real world. Now that you know the story, this is why it’s my all time favorite action movie…

The Matrix

Trinity leaps into the air

The Matrix is simply a modern science fiction icon. It revolutionized movies at the time with its complex themes, slick presentation, and state of the art special effects. Specifically its use of “bullet time.” An entirely unheard of method of slow motion action mixed with 360° camera spins. With iconic moments such as, Trinity leaping into the air in a crane position, Agent Smith and Neo firing their guns at each other mid air, and of course Neo dodging bullets by bending over backwards. In fact, it made such an impact that you couldn’t watch a single movie from the early 2000’s without seeing a parody of it. One of the only times a movie became its own cliche. One of the main reasons I consider The Matrix to be my favorite action movie is the fighting style. Everyone knows kung fu. The Matrix is one of very few movies where I know every single fight move. Every punch, kick, jab, flip, dodge, and leap. Some people learn dance choreography, I learn fight choreography. I get exhausted every time I watch The Matrix. Not that The Matrix doesn’t also make use of “guns… lots of guns.” It helps that Keanu Reeves dominated action movies in the 90’s. Along with Laurence Fishburne in his most iconic role and Carrie-Anne Moss in the only role she’ll ever be associated with. As well as Hugo Weaving playing his first of many great pop culture characters. The Matrix is also known for its unique outfit choices. Just about everyone dresses in black leather, trench coats, and sunglasses. It’s another thing about the movie that was copied a bunch of times. What makes The Matrix really stand out is how much it makes you think. Sure it’s filled with dazzling action sequences, but it also asks some truly thought provoking questions. Like would you take the red pill or the blue pill? That’s a tough question since I’m not sure I’d want to wake up from what seems like a normal world. Even though I’d be living a lie. Which pill would you take? I’ve talked about every other Wachowski movie on my blog and everytime I mention them I mention The Matrix. That’s because the Wachowskis really knew what they were doing when they made this movie. You can tell they drew inspiration from superhero comics and anime. Yet they still managed to give The Matrix an identity all its own. That’s why The Matrix is one of the most beloved sci-fi action movies ever made.

The Matrix

Neo sees the Matrix

Followed by: The Matrix Reloaded

2 thoughts on “There is No Spoon ⭐

  1. Terrific review! To answer your question, I would totally take the Red Pill 😊 I’d rather live free, then in some kind of illusion that isn’t a real life. Okay, maybe in this particular instance freedom isn’t exactly a good word for it, but hey, we at least get to fight against robots and fly cool ships. That counts for something right? 😂😂 Seriously though…absolutely amazing film. Hopefully the 4th installement that’s coming up won’t ruin it 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment