Black Man, White Woman

Guess Who’s Coming to Dinner is one of the first movies to depict an interracial relationship/kiss. Since the 60’s was the biggest decade for change. So of course Sidney Poitier is the actor they chose to play the black man in the relationship with a white woman. Like his other roles in 1967 (To Sir, with Love and In the Heat of the Night), Sidney Poitier plays a dignified man with a respectable career. Doctor in this case. Despite that, his fiancรฉ’s parent’s still have their reservations. Even though he’s sort of too good for her. Don’t get me wrong, she’s fine, but a little unwilling to see the big picture. Guess Who’s Coming to Dinner is all about how Joey’s parents react to her engagement. Spencer Tracy and Katharine Hepburn play her parents in there sixth and final performance together. Of course they don’t just limit things to a white families perspective. As John’s family comes over to join them for dinner. Giving both sides a chance to react. With all of it ending with a powerful speech from the late Spencer Tracy. Despite my reviewing order, Guess Who’s Coming to Dinner was actually the first Sidney Poitier movie I saw. Plus it was nominated for Best Picture. It’s also notable for predicting the future. Since Poitier’s character makes a casual comment about their kids being President of the United States. Guess Whos’ Coming to Dinner will always make me happy that I was born. Since my parents are an interracial couple.

guess_whos_coming_to_dinner_still

Dr. Prentice meets Joanna’s parents

One thought on “Black Man, White Woman

  1. Hello Mastermixmovies,

    I was also surprised by the part about their future children could be The President Of The United States.

    This movie is possibly my current second favorite Sidney Poitier movie that I have seen so far after A Patch Of Blue which is my current favorite of his movies.

    Thank you for sharing your review,
    -John Jr

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment